

Interim Secretariat provided by the Australian Government

First Meeting of the Parties

Hobart, Australia, 10-12 November 2004

Agenda Item No. 2 ACAP/MOP1/Doc.5 REV3 Interim Secretariat

List of Participants

LIST OF PARTICIPANTS

MOP1 CHAIR	Dr Tony PRESS Director Australian Antarctic Division Hobart, Australia
ScM1 CHAIR	Professor John CROXALL British Antarctic Survey Cambridge, United Kingdom
AUSTRALIA	
Representative:	Mr Barry BAKER Senior Policy Advisor Australian Antarctic Division Hobart, Australia
Alternative Representative:	Mr Owen WALSH Australian Antarctic Division Hobart, Australia
Advisors:	Ms Nicola BEYNON Humane Society International Sydney, Australia
	Mr Simon CLAYTON Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade Canberra, Australia
	Mr Ben GALBRAITH Antarctic Tasmania Hobart, Australia
	Dr Rosemary GALES Department of Primary Industries Water and Environment Hobart, Australia

Ms Tara HEWITT Australian Antarctic Division Hobart, Australia

Mr Michael JOHNSON Department of the Attorney General Canberra, Australia

Mr Andrew MCNEE Australian Fisheries Management Authority Canberra, Australia

NEW ZEALAND

Representative:	Ms Chris ANDERSON Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade Wellington, New Zealand
Advisors:	Mr Spencer CLUBB Ministry of Fisheries Wellington, New Zealand
	Ms Janice MOLLOY Department of Conservation Wellington, New Zealand
	Mr Neville SMITH Ministry of Fisheries Wellington, New Zealand

REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA

Representative:	Dr Robert CRAWFORD Chief Specialist Scientist Department of Environmental Affairs and Tourism Rogge Bay, South Africa
Advisors:	Mr Christian BADENHORST Department of Foreign Affairs Pretoria, South Africa
	Mr John COOPER
	University of Cape Town Randebosch, South Africa
	Kandebosch, South Annca
	Ms Samantha PETERSEN Birdlife South Africa Cape Town, South Africa
SPAIN	
Representative:	Dr Carmen-Paz MARTI Secretaría General de Pesca Marítima Madrid, Spain
Advisor:	Mr Carles CARBONERAS MALET Sociedad Espanola de Ornitología Madrid, Spain

UNITED KINGDOM

Representative:	Mr Martin BRASHER Head of Global Wildlife Division Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Bristol, United Kingdom	
Alternative Representative:	Dr Michael RICHARDSON Polar Regions Unit Foreign and Commonwealth Office London, United Kingdom	
Advisors:	Professor John CROXALL British Antarctic Survey Cambridge, United Kingdom	
	Dr Andrew DOUSE Government Advisor United Kingdom	
	Ms Harriet HALL Foreign and Commonwealth Office United Kingdom	
	Mr Mark TASKER Joint Nature Conservation Committee Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom	
SIGNATORIES		
ARGENTINA	Mr Leopoldo FRANCISCO SAHORES Embassy of the Argentine Republic Canberra, Australia	
BRAZIL	Dr Onildo João MARINI FILHO Brazilian Institute of Environment - IBAMA Brasilia, Brazil	

EDANCE	Mr Roberto PARENTE Embassy of Brazil Canberra, Australia
FRANCE	Mr Jean-Claude MIZZI
	Ministry of Foreign Affairs – French Embassy
	Canberra, Australia
RAN	GE STATES
NAMIBIA	Dr Ben VAN ZYL
	Ministry of Fisheries and Marine
	Resources
	Swakopmund, Namibia
NORWAY	Mr Øystein STØRKERSEN
	Directorate for Nature Management
	Trondheim, Norway
UNITED STATES	Mr Hunter CASHDOLLAR
	US Department of State
	Arlington, USA
	Ms Kim RIVERA
	Seabird Coordinator
	NOAA Fisheries
	Juneau, Alaska, USA
OBSERVERS – NON-GOVERNMENT ORGANISATIONS	
ANTARCTIC TREATY	Mr Johannes HUBER Antarctic Treaty Executive Secretary
ANTARCTIC AND SOUTHERN OCEAN COALITION (ASOC)	Ms Estelle VAN DER MERWE ASOC Claremont, South Africa

BIRDLIFE INTERNATIONAL

Mr John O'SULLIVAN Birdlife International Bedfordshire, United Kingdom

Dr Ben SULLIVAN Birdlife International Bedfordshire, United Kingdom

CONVENTION ON THE CONSERVATION OF ANTARCTIC MARINE LIVING RESOURCES (CCAMLR) Dr Denzil MILLER CCAMLR Executive Secretary

Mr Brian MACDONALD

CCSBT Executive Secretary

COMMISSION FOR THE CONSERVATION OF SOUTHERN BLUEFIN TUNA (CCSBT)

(CCSBT) CONVENTION ON THE Mr Douglas H

CONSERVATION OF MIGRATORY SPECIES OF WILD ANIMALS (CMS) Mr Douglas HYKLE CMS Bonn, Germany

INSTITUTE OF ANTARCTIC AND SOUTHERN OCEAN STUDIES (IASOS) Dr Robert HALL IASOS Hobart, Australia

Dr Marcus HAWARD IASOS Hobart, Australia

SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEE ON ANTARCTIC RESEARCH (SCAR) Dr Eric WOEHLER c/o Australian Antarctic Division Hobart, Australia

SOUTHERN SEABIRD SOLUTIONS TRUST Ms Janice MOLLOY Department of Conservation Wellington, New Zealand

UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS AT AUSTIN

Professor Robin DOUGHTY University of Texas at Austin Austin, USA

INTERIM SECRETARIAT

INTERIM SECRETARIAT	Mr Ian HAY
	Australian Antarctic Division
	Hobart, Australia
STAFF	Ms Rachael ALDERMAN
	Department of Primary Industries Water
	and Environment
	Hobart, Australia
	Mr Steve CAMPBELL
	Australian Antarctic Division
	Hobart, Australia
	Dr Helen RILEY
	Scottish Natural Heritage
	Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
INT	ERPRETERS
PACIFIC LANGUAGE SERVICES	Mr Demetrio PADILLA
	Language Coordinator
	Pacific Language Services
	Dr Sandra HALE
	Spanish Interpreter
	Pacific Language Services

TRANSLATORS

CONFERENCE INTERPRETERS INTERNATIONAL Ms Peps DEMIREL Language Coordinator Conference Interpreters International

Mr J. C. LLOYD-SOUTHWELL Spanish Translator Conference Interpreters International