

Eleventh Meeting of the Advisory Committee

Florianópolis, Brazil, 13 – 17 May 2019

Report of the Depositary Government on the Agreement on the Conservation of Albatrosses and Petrels (Canberra, 19 June 2001)

Australia

SUMMARY

Australia is pleased to provide at **ANNEX 1** the Report of the Depositary Government on the Agreement on the Conservation of Albatrosses and Petrels (Canberra, 19 June 2001). The report is dated 1 March 2019.

ANNEX 1

REPORT OF THE DEPOSITARY GOVERNMENT ON THE AGREEMENT ON THE CONSERVATION OF ALBATROSSES AND PETRELS

(Canberra, 19 June 2001)

Depositary: Australia

Entry into force generally: 1 February 2004

Report date: 1 March 2019

- 1. Australia, as Depositary of the Agreement on the Conservation of Albatrosses and Petrels (the Agreement), is pleased to report on the status of the Agreement.
- 2. Australia advises the Parties to the Agreement that on 9 August 2018, the list of species contained in Annex 1 of the Agreement was amended by replacing 'Ardenna creatopus, syn. Puffinus creatopus' with 'Ardenna creatopus' in the current list of petrel species in Annex 1. A copy of the revised Annex 1 is attached.
- 3. Australia further advises the Parties to the Agreement that there have been no new ratifications, accessions to or withdrawals from the Agreement since the most recent Report of the Depositary Government (of 1 February 2018; circulated as MoP6 Doc 08 (Agenda Item 3.2), Sixth Meeting of the Parties, Skukuza, South Africa, 7-11 May 2018).
- 4. A copy of the current status list for the Agreement is set out below.

Parties to the Agreement	Date of Signature (subject to ratification)	Ratification Accession - (a) Acceptance/Approval - (A) Definitive Signature - (ds)	Entry into force for Parties
Argentina	19 Jan 2004	29 Aug 2006 (see note 3)	1 Nov 2006
Australia	19 Jun 2001	4 Oct 2001 (see notes 4 & 5)	1 Feb 2004
Brazil	19 Jun 2001	3 Sep 2008	1 Dec 2008
Chile	19 Jun 2001	13 Sep 2005	1 Dec 2005
Ecuador	18 Feb 2003	18 Feb 2003	1 Feb 2004
France	19 Jun 2001	28 Jun 2005 (A)	1 Sep 2005
New Zealand	19 Jun 2001	1 Nov 2001	1 Feb 2004
Norway	n/a	5 Mar 2007 (a)	1 Jun 2007
Peru	19 Jun 2001	17 May 2005	1 Aug 2005
South Africa	6 Nov 2003	6 Nov 2003	1 Feb 2004
Spain	30 Apr 2002	12 Aug 2003	1 Feb 2004
United Kingdom	19 Jun 2001	2 Apr 2004 (see notes 1 & 2)	1 Jul 2004
Uruguay	n/a	9 Oct 2008 (a)	1 Jan 2009

Notes.

- 1. United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland ratified the Agreement in respect of itself, British Antarctic Territory, Falkland Islands (Islas Malvinas), South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands (Islas Georgias del Sur e Islas Sandwich del Sur).
- 2. United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland extended its ratification to include the Territory of Tristan da Cunha. The above action was effected in Canberra on 13 April 2006 when notification by diplomatic note No.17/06 from the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland was received by the depositary. In accordance with United Kingdom practice, extension of the Agreement to Tristan da Cunha took effect as from the date of receipt of the above notification.
- 3. The Argentine Republic deposited its Instrument of Ratification on 29 August 2006 together with a statement objecting to the terms of the United Kingdom's ratification.²
- 4. The Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade of Australia deposited a reservation by diplomatic note concerning the entry into force of the amendment to Annex 1 of the Agreement on 14 February 2007.
- 5. The Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade of Australia advised withdrawal of its reservation to the entry into force of the amendment to Annex 1 of the Agreement on 23 November 2007.

¹ A dispute exists between the Government of Argentina and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland concerning the sovereignty over the Falkland Islands (Islas Malvinas), South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands (Islas Georgias del Sur e Islas Sandwich del Sur) and the surrounding maritime areas.

² Ibid.

Agreement on the Conservation of Albatrosses and Petrels done at Canberra on 19 June 2001

Annex 1

Albatross and Petrel Species to which the Agreement will apply as at 1 March 2019

Albatrosses (22 species)

Diomedea exulans

Diomedea dabbenena

Diomedea antipodensis

Diomedea amsterdamensis

Diomedea epomophora

Diomedea sanfordi

Phoebastria irrorata

Phoebastria albatrus

Phoebastria immutabilis

Phoebastria nigripes

Thalassarche cauta

Thalassarche steadi

Thalassarche salvini

Thalassarche eremita

Thalassarche bulleri

Thalassarche chrysostoma

Thalassarche melanophris

Thalassarche impavida

Thalassarche carteri

Thalassarche chlororhynchos

Phoebetria fusca

Phoebetria palpebrata

Petrels (9 species)

Macronectes giganteus

Macronectes halli

Procellaria aequinoctialis

Procellaria conspicillata

Procellaria parkinsoni

Procellaria westlandica

Procellaria cinerea

Ardenna creatopus

Puffinus mauretanicus