

Agreement on the Conservation of Albatrosses and Petrels

Sixth Meeting of Advisory Committee

Guayaquil, Ecuador, 29 August – 2 September 2011

Depository Report

Australia

'This paper is presented for consideration by ACAP and may contain unpublished data, analyses, and/or conclusions subject to change. Data in this paper shall not be cited or used for purposes other than the work of the ACAP Secretariat, ACAP Advisory Committee or their subsidiary Working Groups without the permission of the original data holders.'

REPORT OF THE DEPOSITARY GOVERNMENT

ON THE

AGREEMENT ON THE CONSERVATION OF ALBATROSSES AND PETRELS

(Canberra, 19 June 2001)

[2004] ATS 5

Depositary: Australia Entry into force generally: 1 February 2004 Last updated: 1 July 2011

- 1. Australia, as depositary Government for the Agreement on the Conservation of Albatrosses and Petrels (the Agreement), is pleased to report on the status of the Agreement.
- 2. Australia advises the Parties to the Agreement that, since the Fifth Meeting of the ACAP Advisory Committee (Mar del Plata, Argentina, 13-17 April 2010), there have been no depositary activities.
- 3. A copy of the status list for the Agreement is set out below:

Parties to the Agreement	Date of Signature (subject to ratification)	Ratification Accession - (a) Acceptance/Approval - (A) Definitive Signature - (ds)	Entry into force for Parties
Argentina	19 Jan 2004	29 Aug 2006 (see note 3)	01 Nov 2006
Australia	19 Jun 2001	04 Oct 2001 (see notes 4 & 5)	01 Feb 2004
Brazil	19 Jun 2001	03 Sept 2008	01 Dec 2008
Chile	19 Jun 2001	13 Sept 2005	01 Dec 2005
Ecuador	18 Feb 2003	18 Feb 2003	01 Feb 2004
France	19 Jun 2001	28 June 2005 (A)	01 Sep 2005
New Zealand	19 Jun 2001	01 Nov 2001	01 Feb 2004
Norway	n/a	05 Mar 2007 (a)	01 June 2007
Peru	19 Jun 2001	17 May 2005	01 Aug 2005
South Africa	06 Nov 2003	06 Nov 2003	01 Feb 2004
Spain	30 Apr 2002	12 Aug 2003	01 Feb 2004
United Kingdom	19 Jun 2001	02 Apr 2004 (see notes 1 & 2)	01 Jul 2004
Uruguay	n/a	09 Oct 2008 (a)	1 Jan 2009

Notes.

- United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland ratified the Agreement in respect of itself, British Antarctic Territory, Falkland Islands (Islas Malvinas), South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands (Islas Georgias del Sur e Islas Sandwich del Sur).ⁱ
- 2. United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland extended its ratification to include the Territory of Tristan da Cunha. The above action was effected in Canberra on 13 April 2006 when notification by diplomatic note No.17/06 from the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland was received by the depositary. In accordance with United Kingdom practice, extension of the Agreement to Tristan da Cunha took effect as from the date of receipt of the above notification.
- 3. The Argentine Republic deposited its Instrument of Ratification together with a related statement on the 29 August 2006.
- 4. The Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade of Australia deposited a reservation by diplomatic note concerning the entry into force of the amendment to Annex 1 of the Agreement on 14 February 2007.
- 5. The Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade of Australia advised withdrawal of its reservation to the entry into force of the amendment to Annex 1 of the Agreement on 23 November 2007.

i A dispute exists between the Government of Argentina and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland concerning the sovereignty over the Falkland Islands (Islas Malvinas), South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands (Islas Georgias del Sur e Islas Sandwich del Sur) and the surrounding maritime areas.